bittersweet

Processed with VSCOcamthis week has left me feeling a little bruised and beaten and i am not alone in these feelings. i’m re-reading this book and the premise, like the title, is that life is bittersweet – too much sweetness rots the body and the soul. as americans we tend to run from pain and anything that could threaten the way of life we believe we deserve, thus leaving us one-dimensional and entitled human beings. bittersweet though, is beautiful, courageous and reminds us that life is a constant wave of death and life.

the author speaks of a season of life which was characterized by change, “hard, swirling, one-after-another changes, so many that i can’t quite regain my footing before the next one comes…” ah, resonating words. yesterday i found myself crying on my phone outside of anthropologie (my supposedly happy place) and i can’t tell you the number of cafes and pubs i’ve cried in these past months. i have no shame about crying anymore. i think life is wildly unfair, but… that’s life. it’s difficult for everyone and i’m trying my damnedest to embrace every aspect of the bitter-sweetness. knowing sadness and loss has taught me to recognize and appreciate the goodness of life. it is there. in the wee hours of the morning i found it in a text message, telling me to open my front door. what greeted me was this coffee, pastry, fall leaves and a note reminding me that life is difficult, but the difficulties are overshadowed by the goodness around me.

“i believe deeply that God does his best work in our lives during times of great heartbreak and loss, and i believe that much of that rich work is done by the hands of people who love us, who dive into the wreckage with us and show us who God is, over and over and over.” – bittersweet

2 comments
  1. looked at the sneak peek of that book. i think i will have to get it. thank you for sharing, Lyndee. furry-hoodie-love-from-L

Leave a Reply

